New Adventures in Routines

This week has been a new exercise in finding and creating routines where none would otherwise exist.

 

I love my routines. I love knowing what to expect and when to expect it, and this propensity applies to many aspects of my life. For example: it’s soothing to me to have a time map for each day, so much so that planning tomorrow’s schedule helps me to fall asleep. When I find a product I like, I eat/drink/use/wear it forever (GT’s kombucha, Lilly’s kalamata olive hummus, Converse Chuck Taylors) or until I get sick of it. Same goes with songs. Same goes with movies.

 

On the other hand, I’m fairly adventurous. I have traveled much of the globe solo, I talk to strangers constantly, and I’m game to try any new vegetable, spice, app, or cafe that crosses my path.

 

This week was a combination of relative unknowns and comforting routines. I visited three cities in seven days, staying a day or two in each. I’ve navigated subways, turnpikes, tunnels, buses, and metros with aplomb, if I do say so myself, and I haven’t even cried! (Okay, I did cry once but it was completely unrelated.)

 

How?

1. Whole Foods Salad Bar, pictured above. (It’s seitan.) I cannot stress this enough. It gives me a way to get exactly what I want, to be in control of what I’m eating but not clean up, and also, as Gena pointed out when we had coffee today, not to have to make any major decisions– I can just try a little of everything.

2. Mini rituals. I like having herbal tea before bed, so I found a way to make it happen every night this week. It’s a small thing that makes me feel more at home.

3. Friendly faces. Staying with my awesome close friend Alex (<3) in New York this week was like having nonedible manna rain down upon me from heaven, as was seeing Chris out of our normal habitat, and getting to meet Gena in person today.

4. Try a few new things, but not too many. This week I had to focus on medical school interviews (knock on all the wood and cross all the fingers!) and working remotely, which meant that I didn’t have time to go to many of the fine vegan establishments NYC has to offer. It was a reminder that I need to go back and eat my way through the city. but this time, I had to be OK with squeezing a few adventurous moments of bliss into a hectic week.

5. Run Caro Run! If I hadn’t squeezed in a few quick jogs this week I think I might crumpled into a heap on many a floor.

 

What were those moments, you ask? I am so pleased to share them with you.

I carved out an hour to go to make it to a class New York’s beautiful and relaxed Strala Yoga, and on the way back stopped for coffee at Bluebird, below:

…and a juice from the Juice Press, which, by the way, has some of the most hilarious postcard ad campaigns I have ever seen.

Lastly, I stopped by the site of an indelible scene from my all-time favorite romantic comedy.


Speaking of which, I think it’s time for me to slide into a comfortable routine and watch it. Again.

 

Tomorrow I will be back at home with Reese and bringing you better photos!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “New Adventures in Routines

  1. Enjoying your blog so much.

  2. Lou

    Hi Caroline! Just found you through Gena @ Choosing Raw…. always glad to find a blogger in a similar situation… I’m a vegan + my partner is an omni, so it’s great to be able to relate 🙂

  3. I visited your blog after Gena from Choosing Raw (one of my favorite blogs) mentioned it. i wanted to tell you that you do have a lovely blog and I am having fun reading your older posts! I’m a fan!

  4. Tracie

    Im visiting from Gena’s post as well and sm enjoying your blog very much. I’m just wondering how you logistically handle the veg/omni combination in your kitchen. As a near vegetarian, I struggle to bring meat into the house, much less prepare it for my omni family. Can you address the logistics of balancing a veg/omni household? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

