Peregrine Smoothie

Or pear and greens smoothie, if you prefer. That’s greens plural… there are lots of green things in this smoothie!

Green tea has miraculous health properties. We all know. Every time I read an interview with some superbeautiful celebrity lady she always seems to be drinking green tea (so many articles begin with sentences like, “I meet up with Rachel Weisz at the Palace Hotel over green tea to discuss her upcoming film and another new role: motherhood”). It seems so transplendent that some days I feel like the only thing separating me from Gisele is ample quantities of green tea.

But I hate it. I keep trying to teach myself to like it, and I do find some types more palatable than others, but if I’m honest with myself, it really just doesn’t do it for me. I like it with agave and soymilk, but that seems like cheating–like if I’m going to have the green tea I should lady up and have it straight.

I compromise by adding iced green tea to smoothies. It’s a rad way to squeeze a few extra polyphenols into your breakfast, and in a smoothie, the strong taste provides some backbone without being overpowering.

I like to brew the tea extra strong when I’m planing to ice it: 2 tea bags in one cup of boiling water, steeped for much longer than usual (like, hours). I feel like it makes up for all that green tea I should be drinking but am not!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup iced green tea
  • 2 cups almond milk (less if you want it thicker)
  • 1 cup romaine leaves, chopped roughly
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 4 leaves stemmed dino kale
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 medium pear, diced
  • Scant 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • Scant 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 serving protein powder
  • 1 walnut-sized hunk fresh ginger, sliced into coins

Directions

Blend in a Vita-Mix or high-powered blender until smooth. Enjoy by the glass and sip or pour into a bowl, garnish with granola and chopped pear, and eat with a spoon.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Peregrine Smoothie

Leave a Reply

